Skip to content

4 bids to host 2027 Alpine World Ski Championships


Jan-Arne Pettersen

It’s now official. The organisation of the 2027 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships will be decided between four candidates that submitted their applications by the 1st May deadline. The four official candidates are Crans-Montana (Switzerland), Garmisch-Partenkirchen (Germany), Narvik (Norway) and Soldeu (Andorra).


While the AWSC 2027 would not be a first Championships for Crans-Montana (in 1987) and Garmisch-Partenkirchen (1978 and 2011), it would for Narvik, located north of the Arctic Circle, and Soldeu, which would share events with the neighbouring resort of El Tarter.

Narvikfjellet Skiing

Jan-Arne Pettersen

Narvik and Soldeu are described as outsiders in the AWSC context, but also presents exciting and innovative concepts the world has never seen before. Narvik has several x-factors, and will deliver a technically and organizationally well-conducted world championship just like the more experienced arenas.

The election

The final election will take place on 26 May 2022, at the International Ski Federation Congress in Vilamoura (Portugal).

More news